2016/17 Season Announced

August 24, 2016 -- andrew

Chatham Baroque Announces 2016/2017 Season:

A Grand Tour of Baroque Europe

PITTSBURGH – Chatham Baroque’s 2016/2017 Season features four concerts with music from each of the four nations whose distinct styles characterize the sound of Baroque – Germany, Italy, France, and England. A fifth concert will present works from all four nations.

Artistic Directors Andrew Fouts (baroque violin), Patricia Halverson (viola da gamba) and Scott Pauley (theorbo) will be joined by several esteemed guest artists throughout the season. Guest artists will include French-Canadian soprano Pascale Beaudin and internationally renowned instrumentalists Geoffrey Burgess (baroque oboe) and Stephen Schultz (baroque flute).

The Season also features the popular Peanut Butter & Jam Sessions for preschoolers and their grownups, artistic collaborations, residencies, and Twelfth Night, Chatham’s Baroque’s annual gala.

Season subscriptions and tickets to individual performances will go on sale Thursday, September 1. For more information on the 2016/2017 Season, see www.chathambaroque.org

2016/2017 CONCERT SCHEDULE:

Mein Freund ist Mein: J.S. Bach’s Wedding Cantata and Music of his German Forebears

Friday, October 7, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Upper St. Clair, 7:30pm

Saturday, October 8, Calvary Episcopal Church, Shadyside 8:00pm

Sunday, October 9, Campbell Memorial Chapel, Chatham University, 2:30pm

 

The Art of the Trio: Music from across Baroque Europe

Friday, November 18, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Upper St. Clair, 7:30pm

Saturday, November 19, St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church, Highland Park, 8:00pm

Sunday, November 20, Campbell Memorial Chapel, Chatham University, 2:30pm

 

Handel’s Gloria: Celebrating the Divine in Baroque Italy

Friday, December 16, TBA, 7:30pm

Saturday, December 17, Calvary Episcopal Church, Shadyside, 8:00pm

Sunday, December 18, Campbell Memorial Chapel, Chatham University, 2:30pm

 

When Love Enflames a Heart: Passion and Rage in Baroque France

Friday February 3, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Upper St. Clair, 7:30pm

Saturday, February 4, Synod Hall, Oakland, 8:00pm

Sunday, February 5, Campbell Memorial Chapel, Chatham University, 2:30pm

 

Awake Sweet Love: Songs and Sonatas of Olde England

Friday April, 7, Westminster Presbyterian Church 7:30pm

Saturday, April 8, St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church 8:00pm

Sunday, April 9, Campbell Memorial Chapel, Chatham University, 2:30pm

 

2016/2017 PEANUT BUTTER & JAM SESSIONS

(McClintic Hall, Calvary Episcopal Church, Shadyside, 10:00am and 11:30am)

Saturday, September 17: May I have this Dance?!

Saturday, October 8 - The Continuing Adventures of Two Violins, Vi and Len

Saturday, November 19 - Meet Miss Melody and Miss Harmony

Saturday, December 17 - Sing we Noël (back by popular demand) 

Saturday, January 21 - I’ve Got Rhythm!

Saturday, February 4 - Meet the Baroque Flute, the One-Keyed Wonder

Saturday, March 4 - Piano and Forte

Saturday, April 8 - The British are Coming, with music for violins, viols and theorbos

 

TWELFTH NIGHT GALA: Saturday, January 7, Location TBA

About Chatham Baroque:

Considered one of Pittsburgh's musical treasures and cultural ambassadors, Chatham Baroque performs more than 50 concerts each year in the Pittsburgh area as well as in many cities across the US and abroad. Specializing in the performance of music of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries played on instruments of that era, their fresh interpretations and spirited performances are helping to bring this repertory alive for new generations of music lovers. Ensemble members include Andrew Fouts, baroque violin, Patricia Halverson, viola da gamba, and Scott Pauley, theorbo, and baroque guitar.

 

###